Forex Price Action – Silver Forms Inside Bar Near Highs | Aug. 29th

Silver
As the snoozefest continues with investors pulling out prior to the Jackson Hole meeting this Friday, breakouts are an endangered species till then while small ranges are dominating.  Tis no surprise that an daily inside bar formed on almost everything, but the one that is more notable is the one on Silver.

Why?

Well two days ago the pair formed a bearish pin bar after a 5 day climb.  Since then, it has formed a non-descript bull bar with today’s being a bearish inside bar.  Normally you do not have two bars back to back like this after a notable bearish pin bar.  Either a test on the pin bars high manifests, or a breakdown, but not such a straight range.

I suspect this is part due to precious metals traders wanting to wait till the Bernanke speech, but the fact the metal is hovering there suggests some underpinning.  If Bernanke does not announce any more easing, then expect a strong sell-off in silver and gold, but if he does, then expect the pin bar high to be taken out within hours after the speech.  Aggressive intraday players can take longs just above $30.50 with ultra tight stops, while intraday bears can short just a few cents shy of $31 (tight stops as well).

inside bar pin bar reversal price action 2ndskiesforex.com aug 29th

For info on how to trade price action, get access to the traders forum, lifetime membership & more, visit my forex price action course page.

Global Market Commentary:
Volumes were ultra low today with markets mostly trotting in place with Gold being one of the more active instruments shedding $11 dropping to $1658 to close the day.

There is some speculation the ECB will do some sort of easing since he has communicated he will not be at the Jackson Hole meeting, possibly to prepare for such easing to be announced on its Sept. 6th meeting.

Euro German GDP came in around expectations as well as US GDP hitting the main predictions as well.

Upcoming Economic Announcements:

NZD NBNZ Business Confidence 01.00GMT 21.00EST
EUR German Unemployment Change 07.55GMT 03.55EST
GBP Mortgage Approvals 08.30GMT 04.30EST
EUR Euro-Zone Consumer Confidence 09.00GMT 05.00EST
USD Personal Consumption Expenditure Core (YoY) 12.30GMT 08.30EST

Want More? My private members get all my trade ideas & market commentary up to 3x per week. Click here to become a member.

Buddhist, Trader and Philanthropist

I'm Chris Capre, Founder of 2ndSkiesForex. I help traders of all levels change the way they think, trade and perform. As a professional trader, I specialize in trading price action. As a teacher, my passion lies in showing you how to re-wire your brain for successful trading. Want to improve your edge right now? Visit my Price Action Course page.

Related Article