Forex Price Action Setups (NY Close) May 10th

Euro, Dow Produce Dead Cat Bounces – JPM Drops A Bomb
After selling off for 8 days (Euro) and 6 days for the Dow, the markets produced a meager dead cat bounce in the two today, clinging to any relief they could get.  Today, it came in the form of US claims data coming in around expectations.  This really isn’t a lifeline, and more of a string of yarn to a desperate market looking for anything.  The EURUSD gained a whopping (hope you are seated) 8pips today on a closing basis and the Dow a paltry 19pts or .16%.  Keep in mind, both were up nicely on the day but lost almost all their gains which were short lived on both ends.  Although this snaps the losing streak, nobody technically will be excited about this so the bears will be happy to keep the pressure on.

Quite a shock though just hit the markets around NY Close was the out of nowhere announcement from JP Morgan which held an unscheduled call the CIO unit has significant mark-t0-market losses in its synthetic credit portfolio.  Here are a few highlights from the statement but they can be best summed up as ugly, painful, and downright scary for the TBTF bank:

-As of March 31, 2012, the value of CIO’s total AFS securities portfolio exceeded its cost by approximately $8 billion

Translation:  JPM has just taken $2B in trading losses from the guy who was moving the entire market (Bruce Iskill) in the past 6 weeks (ooops) and could face an additional $1B depending upon how this plays out (not including any credit downgrades which would hammer them further).  Needless to say, the market did not respond kindly and Bruce no longer has a job.  But…there is a likely book deal in the future for him, so there is a bright side :-o.

In after hours trading, the stock is down 6.7% with the S&P down 7pts.  The other losers were the AUDUSD and NZDUSD which lost 50 and 30pips in what would normally be a very quiet transition from NY to the NZ and AUD opens.  This should put additional downside pressure on the two likely for the Tokyo session.

Tomorrow should be a volatile day with a slew of announcements in China, Europe, the UK and US so don’t expect it to be a tame one tomorrow.

AUDUSD Forms Intraday Pin Bar Off Dynamic Resistance
After bottoming a day and a half ago from a pin bar setup, the AUDUSD offered a forex pin bar strategy after rejecting off the dynamic resistance (20ema) on the 4hr chart today.  Many of our price action traders got in on this one so hopefully you did as well as it is well into profit yielding already more than a 2:1 reward to risk play.  The pair has touched the support base where the first pullback started so we will watch for price action triggers here and a possible short term buy, but are overall bearish on the pair and will be looking to sell rallies up to 1.0224 for an eventual break and close below parity which we see in the near future.

pin bar strategy price action forex trading may 10th

GBPUSD – Pin Bar Setup Plays Out
The GBPUSD pin bar setup we posted in yesterday’s forex price action setups gave us a nice pullback into the 1.6100 level offering up a 2:1 reward to risk play.  Even now, if you still are in it, you’d be up in profit. Now the market is looking a little shaky with a wide range bar and we are already out of it.  However, if the intraday charts show some timidness in the pullback, we will consider another possible buy looking for price action triggers on the 1hr and 4hr time frames.

forex pin bar setup price action forex trading may 10th

For those wanting to learn rule based price action systems, access to the traders forum, lifetime membership & more, check out my Forex Price Action Course.

Upcoming Economic Announcements:

CNY New Yuan Loans 00.00GMT 20.00EST
CNY Producer Price Index (YoY) 01.30GMT 21.30EST
CNY Industrial Production YTD (YoY) 05.30GMT 01.30EST
EUR German Consumer Price Index – EU Harmonised (YoY) 06.00GMT 02.00EST
GBP Producer Price Index Output n.s.a. (YoY) 08.30GMT 04.30EST
EUR European Commission Releases Economic Growth Forecasts (Table) 09.00GMT 05.00EST
USD Producer Price Index (YoY) 12.30GMT 08.30EST
USD U. of Michigan Confidence 13.55GMT 09.55EST

Make sure to check out my latest article called Price Action Forex Trading – Exhaustion & Climax Reversal Bars 

Want More? My private members get all my trade ideas & market commentary up to 3x per week. Click here to become a member.

Buddhist, Trader and Philanthropist

I'm Chris Capre, Founder of 2ndSkiesForex. I help traders of all levels change the way they think, trade and perform. As a professional trader, I specialize in trading price action. As a teacher, my passion lies in showing you how to re-wire your brain for successful trading. Want to improve your edge right now? Visit my Price Action Course page.

Related Article