Forex Price Action Setups – Gold Pin Bar Off Support – June 18th

After gapping down to open the week on the pro-bailout Greek election result, the shiny metal recovered nicely as everyone realized two key things;
1) there may be another Greek election in August as this party cannot form a full gov’t
2) Spain, Greece and Italy still have problems

This left risk off and investors realizing they’d rather have gold then paper.

But notice how the price action literally sold off right to the 20ema, found buyers quickly and pushed it above the open by forming a pin bar.

Intraday bulls can take longs off this level as its too near the next resistance to add longs now.  Shorts can still look for plays around $1640 with tight stops above as the precious metal has been climbing for 7 days now.

pin bar strategy price action trading june 18th
For those wanting to learn to trade price action, access to the traders forum, lifetime membership & more, visit my price action course at 2ndSkiesForex

Global Market Commentary:
Well, it seems any good news lately (Spanish Bailout, pro-bailout Greek election) tends to create a short term bullish sentiment, but then reality sets in and the markets start doing what they should be – selling off.

Spanish 10yr yields hit 7.3% and ended above 7% which is a EZ record high and only continues to put pressure on their already struggling financial system.  This made the reality that a Greek exit is not the only fire which put pressure on the Euro.

The Dow closed down 25pts or .2% while Gold gained from the market open and is holding around $1627 but expect some indecision as how the Greek election plays out is definitely not clear at this point while Spain will continue to mount pressure on risk assets.

Upcoming Economic Announcements:

GBP Nationwide Consumer Confidence 00.00GMT 20.00EST
AUD Reserve Bank Board June Minutes 01.30GMT 21.30EST
GBP Core Consumer Price Index (YoY) 08.30GMT 04.30EST
GBP Retail Price Index (YoY) 08.30GMT 04.30EST
EUR German ZEW Survey (Economic Sentiment) 09.00GMT 05.00EST
USD Housing Starts 12.30GMT 08.30EST

Make sure to check out my newest article on Improving Trader Psychology With Neuro-Feedback

Want More? My private members get all my trade ideas & market commentary up to 3x per week. Click here to become a member.

Buddhist, Trader and Philanthropist

I'm Chris Capre, Founder of 2ndSkiesForex. I help traders of all levels change the way they think, trade and perform. As a professional trader, I specialize in trading price action. As a teacher, my passion lies in showing you how to re-wire your brain for successful trading. Want to improve your edge right now? Visit my Price Action Course page.

Related Article