Forex Price Action Setups – Euro Gets Pummeled May 15th

Euro Gets Pummeled, Global Markets Fall
As you might have guessed, the EURUSD got pummeled today as continued worries over the upcoming elections in Greece and inability to form a government are increasing the odds of a Greece Exit since it has till early June before the gov’t runs out of cash.  Just to give you an idea of how things are going in Greece, on Monday alone, €700mm fled the Greek banking system so this puts additional pressure of a bank run which would simply be the nail in the coffin.

As a result, the EURUSD shed over 140pips on the day hitting a 4-mos low and is approaching the yearly lows just above 1.2630.  A breach of here would send technical models reeling and likely trigger both stops and a fresh wave of selling.

Gold continues to feel it as well hitting 4.5mos lows and is approaching the critical Dec. 30, 2011 swing lows at $1522. Should this get breached, then the next layer of support would be $1486 and $1432.  Keep in mind gold has climbed for 11yrs straight so a correction is well over due.

Global markets also followed suit from Europe to the US with every major index selling off.  The Dow ended down 63pts while the S&P lost  .57%.

EURUSD – Looking Over-Extended
Although I do not like buying this pair unless you held a knife to my throat, I am feeling like the pair is over-extended at the moment.  It has sold off 11 of the last 12 days with the last two days being quite aggressive in the selling forming a marubozu followed by another aggressive selling day.  The 4hr chart shows possible exhaustion price action selling so I prefer to sell rallies then trade the breaks lower.

I am looking at a possible pullback to the 1.2812 region as my most aggressive location to sell any rally which would be nice if it met up with the dynamic resistance and 20ema.  Pending the right price action trigger, I would consider a short on a pullback here.  My next level up to sell would be 1.2900 but I am viewing any rallies as an opportunity to sell targeting 1.2650 which is the yearly lows and an eventual break lower.

price action forex trading exhaustion reversal bars 2ndskiesforex.com may 15th

For those wanting to learn rule based price action systems, access to the traders forum, lifetime membership & more, check out my Forex Price Action Course.

Upcoming Economic Announcements:

AUD Westpac Consumer Confidence Index 00.30GMT 20.30EST
GBP Jobless Claims Change 08.30GMT 04.30EST
GBP Claimant Count Rate 08.30GMT 04.30EST
EUR Euro-Zone Consumer Price Index (YoY) 09.00GMT 05.00EST
GBP Bank of England Inflation Report 09.30GMT 05.30EST
USD Building Permits 12.30GMT 08.30EST

Make sure to check out my newest article on Do You Have the Willpower to Trade Forex Successfully?

Want More? My private members get all my trade ideas & market commentary up to 3x per week. Click here to become a member.

Buddhist, Trader and Philanthropist

I'm Chris Capre, Founder of 2ndSkiesForex. I help traders of all levels change the way they think, trade and perform. As a professional trader, I specialize in trading price action. As a teacher, my passion lies in showing you how to re-wire your brain for successful trading. Want to improve your edge right now? Visit my Price Action Course page.

Related Article